Pittsfield is governed by a Town Council/Town Manager form of government as outlined in the Town Charter. The Town Council is comprised of 7 members consisting of a councilor from 4 districts and 3 At-Large members. Each January the Council elects a Mayor and a Deputy Mayor from amongst it's members.